Football in London

With football being one of the most popular sports in London, you'll never be short of clubs to see when you visit the capital. Here's a selection of some of those teams for all of you football fanatics to enjoy! Don't forget to grab your match tickets from The Original London Visitor Centre for Premier League and Championship games


Founded in 1886, Arsenal play in the stunning modern Emirates Stadium, which has been their home since 2006 with a capacity of 60,432. Based in North London, the Gunners currently play in the Premier League, England's top division. For more details, visit Arsenal's website.


League Titles: 13 (1930–311932–331933–341934–351937–381947–481952–531970–711988–891990–911997–982001–022003–04)

FA Cup: 13 (1929–30, 1935–36, 1949–50, 1970–71, 1978–79, 1992–93, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2002–03, 2004–05, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2016–17)

League Cup: 2 (1986–87, 1992–93)

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: 1 (1993-94)

FA Community Shield: 15 (1930, 1931, 1933, 1934, 1938, 1948, 1953, 1991 (shared), 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2014, 2015, 2017)

Nearest tube stations: Arsenal (Piccadilly Line) Finsbury Park (Victoria, Piccadilly Lines and Great Northern rail) and Highbury & Islington (Victoria Line, North London Line and Great Northern rail) 


Based in Fulham, Chelsea were founded in 1905 and play in the Premier League at Stamford Bridge, which has a capacity of 41,798. The ground has been their home since they were founded and like most top division stadiums offer tours around it. For more details, visit Chelsea's website.  


League Titles: 6 (1954–552004–052005–062009–102014–152016–17)

FA Cup: 7 (1969–70, 1996–97, 1999–2000, 2006–07, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2011–12)

League Cup: 5 (1964–65, 1997–98, 2004–05, 2006–07, 2014–15)

UEFA Champions League: 1 (2011-12)

UEFA Europa League: 1 (2012-13)

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: (1970-71, 1997-98)

UEFA Super Cup: 1 (1998)

FA Community Shield: 4 (1955200020052009)

Nearest tube stations: Fulham Broadway (District Line) 

Crystal Palace

Nicknamed the Eagles, Crystal Palace were formed in 1905 and play in the Premier League at their 26,309 capacity stadium in South London, Selhurst Park. For more details, visit Crystal Palace's website


English Second Tier (Currently the Championship): Champions: (1978–79, 1993–94)

English Third Tier (Currently League One): Champions: (1920-21)

Nearest train stations: Selhurst and Norwood Junction train stations 

Tottenham Hotspur

In addition to Arsenal, their North London rivals are Tottenham Hotspur, who were founded in 1882. Spurs currently play in the England's national Staduim Wembley whilst their current home, White Hart Lane, undergoes redevelopment to be turned into a new 60,000 stadium, due to be opened later this year. For more details, visit Spurs' website


League Titles2 (1950–511960–61)

FA Cup: 8 (1900–01, 1920–21, 1960–61, 1961–62, 1966–67, 1980–81, 1981–82, 1990–91)

League Cup: 4 (1970–711972–731998–992007–08)

UEFA Cup/Europa League: 2 (1971–72, 1983–84)

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: 1 (1962–63)

FA Community Shield: 7 (1921, 1951, 1961, 1962, 1967*, 1981*, 1991* (*shared)

Nearest tube and train stations: Wembley Park Station (Jubilee and Metropolitan Lines), Wembley Stadium Station (Chiltern Railways) and Wembley Central Station (Bakerloo, London Overground, London Midland and Southern lines)

West Ham

Formed in 1895, the Hammers currently play in the Premier League in the impressive London Stadium, which hosted the Olympics in 2012! Prior to this they were at Upton Park until they moved into their new home in Stratford in 2016. For more details, visit West Ham's website.


FA Cup: 3 (196419751980)

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: (1965)

FA Community Shield: 1 (1964 - shared)

Nearest tube stations: Stratford Station (Central, Jubilee, DLR and London Overground lines). 


Nicknamed The Bees, Brentford were founded in 1889! They currently play in England's second tier of football, The Championship, at their home in West London, Griffin Park. For more details, visit Brentford's website.

Nearest train stations: Brentford Railway Station (30 minutes from London Waterloo)


Fulham were formed in 1879 and currently play in the Championship at their Craven Cottage stadium in West London, right by the River Thames. Nicknamed The Cottagers, they're London's oldest club in the football league. For more details, visit Fulham's website.


English Second Tier (Currently the Championship): Champions: (2000-01)

English Third Tier (Currently League One): Champions: 3 (1931–32, 1948–49, 1998–99)

Nearest tube stations: Putney Bridge (District Line) 


Millwall were founded in 1885 and play their matches in the Championship at the New Den based in South London, which they moved to from the Old Den in 1993. For more details, visit Millwall's website.


English Second Tier (Currently League One): Champions: (1987-88)

English Third Tier (Currently League One): Champions: (2000-01)

English Fourth Tier (Currently League Two): Champions: (1961-62)

Nearest train stations: South Bermondsey Train Station 

Queens Park Rangers

QPR are nicknamed The Hoops and were founded in 1882. They're playing in the Championship at their ground Loftus Road, which is based in West London. For more details, visit QPR's website.


English Second Tier (Currently the Championship): Champions: 2 (1982-83, 2010-11)

English Third Tier (Currently League One): Champions: 2 (1947-48, 1966-67)

League Cup: 1966-67

Nearest tube stations: White City (Central Line)