After exploring the capital's football teams, let's take a look at some of the other sporting teams and events you can attend in London!


If you're a cricket fan then London is the place to be with the capital being the home to two cricket clubs, Middlesex County Cricket Club and Surrey County Cricket Club, as well as Lord's and The Oval playing host to England matches. 

Middlesex CCC

Middlesex CCC

Middlesex CCC were formed in 1864 and play their matches at The Home of Cricket, Lord's Cricket Ground, based in St John's Wood, North London. You can watch them play from April until September each year, playing in three formats of cricket (Four Day Country Championship, 50 Over Cup and the T20 Blast). The ground also hosts the Domestic 50 Over cup Final every year. 

When Middlesex CCC aren't playing, why not watch England play at Lord's as well! Every summer they play two Test matches as well as One-Day Internationals at the iconic ground. 

Middlesex CCC Honours:

County Championship: 13 (1903, 1920, 1921, 1947, 1976, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1990, 1993, 2016; Shared (2) – 1949, 1977)

FP 50 Over Trophy: 4 (1977, 1980, 1984, 1988)

National One-Day League: 1 (1992)

T20 Cup: 1 (2008)

Benson & Hedges 50 Over Cup: 2 (183, 1986)

Nearest tube station: St John's Wood (Jubilee Line)

Surrey CCC

Surrey CCC

Based in Kennington, South London, Surrey CCC were formed in 1845 and play their matches at The Oval Cricket Ground. Like Middlesex CCC, Surrey CCC play all three formats of cricket as well as hosting an England Test match every year and One-Day International matches. 

Surrey CCC Honours:

County Championship: 18 (1890, 1891, 1892, 1894, 1895, 1899, 1914, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1971, 1999, 2000, 2002; shared (1) – 1950)

FP 50 Over Trophy: 1 (1982)

Clydesdale Bank 40 Over Trophy: 1 (2011)

Natwest 40 Over League: 2 (1996, 2003)

T20 Cup: 1 (2003)

Benson & Hedges 50 Over Cup: 3 (1974, 1997, 2001)

Nearest tube station: Oval (Northern Line)

Rugby Union

If you aren't into your cricket then London is home to two rugby clubs, Harlequins  and Saracens, with England playing their home matches at the Twickenham Stadium



Nicknamed The Quins, Harlequins were formed in 1866 and play in the Aviva Premiership. They play their home matches at the 14,000 capacity Twickenham Stoop which is near Richmond, with the season running from September to May. 


Aviva Premiership: 1 (2011-12)

John Player Cup / Pilkington Cup / LV= Cup: 3 (1987-88, 1990–91, 2012–13)

European Shield / Parker Pen Challenge Cup / Amlin Cup: 3 (2000-01,2003–04, 2010–11)   

National Division One Champions: 1 2005-06

Powergen National Trophy winners: 1 2005-06

Nearest train station:Twickenham



Saracens were formed in 1876 and like Harlequins play in the Aviva Premiership with their season also running from September to May. Based in Barnet, they play their home matches at the Allianz Park which has a capacity of 10,000. As fans will know, the two London rugby clubs are bitter rivals! 


Premiership: 3 (2010-11, 2014-15, 2015-16)

European Rugby Champions Cup: (2015-16, 2016-17)

LV= Cup: 1 (2014-15)

Tetley's Bitter Cup: 1 (1997-98)

Nearest train station: Mill Hill (Northern Line)



Based near Richmond, Twickenham Stadium was opened in 1909 and with a capacity of 82,000 it's the home of England Rugby hosting matches including the Home Tests, Six Nations and domestic games. It's the second largest stadium in the UK, behind Wembley Stadium, and has hosted World Cup matches in 1991, 1999 and 2015. 

Nearest train station: Twickenham 



If you love tennis, then Wimbledon is a must visit! The All England Club was founded in 1877 and holds its annual Tennis Championships between the final week of June and first week of July every summer, as part of one of the four Grand Slams. Wimbledon is the only Grand Slam that is played on grass and is famous for its strawberries and cream, which last year saw 34,000 kg of strawberries and 10,000 litres of cream consumed! With 18 courts and Centre Court hosting the final, the tournament illustrates the quintessentially British feel! 


Most Men's Titles: Roger Federer (8) (2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2017)

Most Women's Titles: Martina Navratilova: (9) (1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1990)

Nearest tube stations: Southfields (District Line) and Wimbledon (District Line)



Every year the River Thames plays host to the annual Boat Race between Oxford University and Cambridge University from Putney Bridge to Chiswick Bridge; 4 miles, 374 yards or 6.8km long. The Boat Race was first contested in 1829, with there being 161 official races over 185 years. To date, Cambridge has won 82 against Oxford's 80, with 1 dead heat. The Women's Boat Race first took place in 1927, with Cambridge winning 42 races to Oxford's 30. 

Nearest tube and train stations: Putney Bridge  (District Line), Hammersmith (District, Circle, Hammersmith & City, Piccadilly) Mortlake/Barnes Bridge/Barnes/Chiswick Train Stations